Annual Awards Dinner & Auction


  • 1 ticket to the event
  • Early Bird pricing: Until October 10th
  • 4 tickets to the event
  • Recognition in official event program
  • Recognition at the silent auction
  • Table for 8 at the event
  • Name recognition on your table
  • Recognition in official event program
  • Recognition at the event
  • Table for 8 at the event
  • Name recognition on your table
  • Recognition in official program
  • Announcement during the awards as a sponsor for the honoree of your choice
  • Table for 10 to the event
  • Name recognition on your table
  • Recognition in official program
  • Ad in official program
  • Sponsor logo on all publications
  • Ad on event website





Previous Winners

Congratulations to our 2021 Winners

7Roots Creative directed, filmed, produced, and edited these videos for the Aptos Chamber of Commerce Awards Dinner.


7Roots Creative
A woman-led team of creatives bringing your video, graphic design, illustration, photography, and strategic design dreams to life. #ladybosses

Learn more:

2019 Annual Awards Dinner and Auction

Photos by Mark Stover, Expressive Photographics

Check out his work here:

Previous Winners


Man of the Year-Jim La Torre
Woman of the Year; Teresa Thomae
Business of the Year; Thomas and Elizabeth Vinolus for Bittersweet Bistro
Community Service Award; Dave Stuflick for California Highway Patrol
Organization of the Year: Lyle Cruise for Cabrillo Stage


Man of the Year (tie): Chief Gary W. Smith, Chief Smith Aptos/La Selva Fire Department and Sergeant Joseph Hemingway Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department
Woman of the Year- Beverly “Pepper” Golesh
Organization of the Year- Second Harvest Food Bank
Business of the Year: Café Rio
Community Hero: Aptos Little League


Man of the Year: Tom Hart
Woman of the Year: Laura Brown
Business of the Year: Dana Werdmuller Advertising + Design
Organization of the Year: SC Area Chapter of the CA Restaurant Association
Outstanding Achievement: John D. Hurd, president of Cabrillo College since 1991


Man of the Year-Ted Burk and Bob Munsey-Shadowbrook and Crow’s Nets Restuarants
Woman of the Year- Clair Biancalana-Cabrillo College
Business of the Year-Best Western Seacliff Inn
Organization of the Year-Capitola/Aptos Rotary
Outstanding Achievement-Senator Bruce McPherson and Save the Music


Man: Robert Bailey, Bailey Properties
Woman: Kristine Ronzano, Coast Commercial Bank
Business: Michaels on Main
Organization: Above the Line
Community Hero: Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department
Community Hero: PG&E
Lifetime Achievement: John Fisher


Man of the Year:  Mark Holcomb
Woman of the Year:  Karin Estess
Business of the Year:  First American Title
Organization of the Year:  Dominican Hospital
Community Hero Award:  Trent Dilfer
Outstanding Achievement Award:  Aptos History Museum


Man of the Year:  Dave Vincent
Woman of the Year:  Sandi Eason
Business of the Year:  Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk
Organization of the Year:  Leadership Santa Cruz
Community Hero Award:  John Kegebein
Outstanding Achievement Award:  Leadership Santa Cruz


Man of the Year:  Willy Elliott-McCrea
Woman of the Year:  Ellen Pirie
Business of the Year:  Annieglass
Organization of the Year:  Aptos/ La Selva Fire District
Community Hero Award:  George Woodbury
Lifetime Achievement Award:  Assemblyman John Laird


Man of the Year: Marq Lipton, Santa Cruz Seaside Company
Woman of the Year: Mary Anne Carson, Santa Cruz County Bank
Business of the Year: Bay Federal Credit Union
Organization of the Year: Cabrillo College
Community Hero: Classic Cleaners
Outstanding Achievement: The Crow’s Nest
Lifetime Achievement: Steve Robbins


Man of the Year: Dr. James Beckett, Palo Alto Medical Foundation
Woman of the Year: Debbie Parsons, Best Western Seacliff Inn
Business of the Year: Alexis Party Rental
Organization of the Year: Santa Cruz Ballet Theatre
Outstanding Achievement: Shmuel Thaler and Dan Coyro


Man of the Year: Jeff Talmadge, Talmadge Construction, Inc.
Woman of the Year: Leslie DeRose
Business of the Year: Erik’s Deli Café and Baskin Robbins of Aptos
Foundation of the Year: Dominican Hospital Foundation
Organization of the Year: Monterey Bay Certified Farmers Market
Outstanding Achievement: Cabrillo Stage
Community Heroes: Wes and Gary Hunter


Man of the Year: Pastor René Schlaepfer, Twin Lakes Church
Woman of the Year: Gwen Kaplan, Lomak Property Group
Business of the Year: Manuel’s Mexican Restaurant, Leonard & Patricia Santana
Organization of the Year: AMGEN Local Organizing Committee for the Tour of CA
Lifetime Achievement Award: Ellen Pirie, 2nd District Supervisor


Woman of the Year: Mary Russell
Man of the Year: Rob Morse
Man of the Year: Bob Wall
Organization of the Year: Christy Licker, Caroline’s Thrift Shop
Business of the Year: Miles Reiter on behalf of Driscoll’s


Man of the Year: Bob Norton
Woman of the Year: Jeanne Harrison, Café Rio
“Local Loop” Business of the Year: Santa Cruz Waves
Established Local Business of the Year: Cinnamon Bay Clothing
Organization of the Year: Twin Lakes Church
Community Hero’s: Phil Wowak & Jeff Terpstra


Man of the Year: Zach Friend, 2nd District Supervisor
Woman of the Year: Christy Licker, Caroline’s Thrift Shop
Business of the Year: John Fuchs Properties
Organization of the Year: Grey Bears
Outstanding Achievement: Rio Del Mar Improvement Association
Community Enhancement: Agricultural History Project
Community Hero: Robert “Bobby” Salazar


Man of the Year: Steven Allen, Allen Property  Group, Inc.
Woman of the Year: Kate Minott, Santa Cruz County Parks
Small Business of the Year: Kiss Catering
Sustainable Business of the Year: S. Martinelli’s & Co.
Organization of the Year: Friends Cure Cystic Fibrosis
Lifetime Achievement: Sam Farr
Outstanding Achievement: Aptos Mural Committee
Community Heroes: Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department & California Highway Patrol


Man of the Year: Doug Deaver, Community Advocate
Woman of the Year: Kristin Fabos, Cabrillo College
Business of the Year: Rio Sands Hotel
Organization of the Year: Advocates for the Forest of Nisene Marks
Outstanding Achievement: LEO’s Haven
Community Heroes: County of Santa Cruz Department of Public Works


Man of the Year: Dan Haifley
Woman of the Year: Michele Bassi
Business of the Year: Seascape Village Fitness
Organization of the Year: Vista Center
Outstanding Achievement: Mark Dorfman
Community Heroes: Aptos Feed & Pet Supply


Man of the Year: Matt Wetstein
Woman of the Year: Pam Goodman
Business of the Year: Seascape Foods
Organization of the Year: Jacobs Heart Childrens Cancer Support Services
Lifetime Achievement: Larry deGhetaldi, M.D.
Outstanding Achievement: Aptos High School ROV
Community Heroes: Denise Ward: My Community Reads