Annual Award Dinner

The 2018 Dinner

Theme TBA

Join us as we honor 2018’s Man, Woman, Business and Organization, and Outstanding Achievement of the Year. All will be honored at the 91st Annual Awards Dinner & Auction on Friday, October 26, 2018 at the beautiful Seascape Beach Resort overlooking the spectacular Monterey Bay. More information to come.

Click Here to Vote

Join us for a night of celebrating excellence in the Aptos Community

Date: Friday, October 26, 2018
Location: Seascape Beach Resort


Coming soon

2017 Winners

Doug Deaver

Man of the Year

Enter quote text here

Kristin Fabos

Woman of the Year

Rio Sands Hotel

Business of the Year

Advocates for the Forest of Nisene Marks

Organization of the Year

LEO’s Haven

Outstanding Achievement of the Year

Santa Cruz County Department of Public Works

Community Hero’s of the Year

Previous Winners


Man of the Year-Jim La Torre

Woman of the Year; Teresa Thomae

Business of the Year; Thomas and Elizabeth Vinolus for Bittersweet Bistro

Community Service Award; Dave Stuflick for California Highway Patrol

Organization of the Year: Lyle Cruise for Cabrillo Stage




Man of the Year (tie): Chief Gary W. Smith, Chief Smith Aptos/La Selva Fire Department

and Sergeant Joseph Hemingway Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department

Woman of the Year- Beverly “Pepper” Golesh

Organization of the Year- Second Harvest Food Bank

Business of the Year: Café Rio

Community Hero: Aptos Little League




Man of the Year: Tom Hart

Woman of the Year: Laura Brown

Business of the Year: Dana Werdmuller Advertising + Design

Organization of the Year: SC Area Chapter of the CA Restaurant Association

Outstanding Achievement: John D. Hurd, president of Cabrillo College since 1991




Man of the Year-Ted Burk and Bob Munsey-Shadowbrook and Crow’s Nets Restuarants

Woman of the Year- Clair Biancalana-Cabrillo College

Business of the Year-Best Western, seacliff Inn

Organization of the Year-Capitola/Aptos Rotary

Outstanding Achievement-Senator Bruce McPherson and Save the Music




Man: Robert Bailey, Bailey Properties

Woman: Kristine Ronzano, Coast Commercial Bank

Business: Michaels on Main

Organization: Above the Line

Community Hero: Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department

Community Hero: PG&E

Lifetime Achievement: John Fisher




Man of the Year:  Mark Holcomb

Woman of the Year:  Karin Estess

Business of the Year:  First American Title

Organization of the Year:  Dominican Hospital

Community Hero Award:  Trent Dilfer

Outstanding Achievement Award:  Aptos History Museum



Man of the Year:  Dave Vincent

Woman of the Year:  Sandi Eason

Business of the Year:  Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk

Organization of the Year:  Leadership Santa Cruz

Community Hero Award:  John Kegebein

Outstanding Achievement Award:  Leadership Santa Cruz



Man of the Year:  Willy Elliott-McCrea

Woman of the Year:  Ellen Pirie

Business of the Year:  Annieglass

Organization of the Year:  Aptos/ La Selva Fire District

Community Hero Award:  George Woodbury

Lifetime Achievement Award:  Assemblyman John Laird



Man of the Year: Marq Lipton, Santa Cruz Seaside Company

Woman of the Year: Mary Anne Carson, Santa Cruz County Bank

Business of the Year: Bay Federal Credit Union

Organization of the Year: Cabrillo College

Community Hero: Classic Cleaners

Outstanding Achievement: The Crow’s Nest

Lifetime Achievement: Steve Robbins



Man of the Year: Dr. James Beckett, Palo Alto Medical Foundation

Woman of the Year: Debbie Parsons, Best Western Seacliff Inn

Business of the Year: Alexis Party Rental

Organization of the Year: Santa Cruz Ballet Theatre

Outstanding Achievement: Shmuel Thaler and Dan Coyro




Man of the Year: Jeff Talmadge, Talmadge Construction, Inc.

Woman of the Year: Leslie DeRose

Business of the Year: Erik’s Deli Café and Baskin Robbins of Aptos

Foundation of the Year: Dominican Hospital Foundation

Organization of the Year: Monterey Bay Certified Farmers Market

Outstanding Achievement: Cabrillo Stage

Community Heroes: Wes and Gary Hunter



Man of the Year: Pastor René Schlaepfer, Twin Lakes Church
Woman of the Year: Gwen Kaplan, Lomak Property Group
Business of the Year: Manuel’s Mexican Restaurant, Leonard & Patricia Santana
Organization of the Year: AMGEN Local Organizing Committee for the Tour of CA
Lifetime Achievement Award: Ellen Pirie, 2nd District Supervisor



Woman of the Year: Mary Russell

Man of the Year: Rob Morse

Man of the Year: Bob Wall

Organization of the Year: Christy Licker, Caroline’s Thrift Shop

Business of the Year: Miles Reiter on behalf of Driscoll’s




Man of the Year: Bob Norton
Woman of the Year: Jeanne Harrison, Café Rio
“Local Loop” Business of the Year: Santa Cruz Waves
Established Local Business of the Year: Cinnamon Bay Clothing
Organization of the Year: Twin Lakes Church
Community Hero’s: Phil Wowak & Jeff Terpstra



Man of the Year: Zach Friend, 2nd District Supervisor
Woman of the Year: Christy Licker, Caroline’s Thrift Shop
Business of the Year: John Fuchs Properties
Organization of the Year: Grey Bears
Outstanding Achievement: Rio Del Mar Improvement Association
Community Enhancement: Agricultural History Project
Community Hero: Robert “Bobby” Salazar



Man of the Year: Steven Allen, Allen Property  Group, Inc.
Woman of the Year: Kate Minott, Santa Cruz County Parks
Small Business of the Year: Kiss Catering
Sustainable Business of the Year: S. Martinelli’s & Co.
Organization of the Year: Friends Cure Cystic Fibrosis
Lifetime Achievement: Sam Farr
Outstanding Achievement: Aptos Mural Committee
Community Heroes: Santa Cruz County Sheriff’s Department & California Highway Patrol



Man of the Year: Doug Deaver, Community Advocate
Woman of the Year: Kristin Fabos, Cabrillo College
Business of the Year: Rio Sands Hotel
Organization of the Year: Advocates for the Forest of Nisene Marks
Outstanding Achievement: LEO’s Haven
Community Heroes: County of Santa Cruz Department of Public Works